top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejewell wilson

merry christmas!

For unto us a Child in born, unto us a Son is given, and the government shall be upon His shoulder; His name shall be called Wonderful Counsellor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, and Prince of Peace



God Jul - Merry Christmas! I hope this season is filled with rest, peace, joy, and a grateful heart.


Creative Discipleship

The last two months has been full of wrapping up and preparing for the next season. At the end of November I finished up my 4th Fine Art Track. What a sweet season of walking beside and discipling a wild group of artists. I had 8 lovely ladies this time round, with so much talent, hunger for creativity, and love for Jesus. We finished with a collaborative, creative Exhibition. The girls has spent several weeks in preparation; sketching ideas, praying for discernment, refining concepts, and working on the final piece. Our "Perspective: a creative exhibition" was a beautiful night with interactive art that engaged the senses. I was overseeing and hosting the event and could't help but step back in awe of what the students made. Here's some testimonies from some creative students:


"Working on fine art while in a DTS helped me hit major breakthroughs in my art. I learned what it meant to hear the Holy Spirit and allow Him to direct my art. I learned how to let go of perfectionism in order to grow as an artist."

- Fine Art student


"The Music track really changed my view on the creative processs. I learned I can co-create with God to write and produce music that encourage and impact people. God revealed himself to me in such an individual way, through making music with His Holy Spirit."

- Music Track student


To make Him Known

As the DTS students prepared for the outreach phase, I got a chance to impart my experience with and passion for creative ministry. I facilitated a Creative Ministry workshop. Some feedback from students was that they felt empowered to share the Gospel through the activities and crafts they are passionate about. This season, I've learned that few people share the Gospel message because they don't know how. God has given us gifts, talents, interests, and influence that we can use to share His story. Evangelism is not limited to approaching people on the street or preaching on street corners - if anything, people don't respond to that approach so much these days. Rather, when we connect and build relationship, when we share common ground, there's deeper and richer soil to plant seeds.

Now, the Fall DTS is well into their Outreach Phase. We've sent teams to Mexico, Australia, Europe + (Denmark, Hungary, and Romania), and the UK (Scotland and England) to make God known!


Looking ahead

As Christmas break approaches, I am preparing to lead my last Fine Art Track! Mostly adminstrative tasks, like building a schedule and preparing teaching material. As the Creative Coordinator I have been curating a folder with cirriculum and resources for all the tracks and it's helped develop our creative training big time! I look forward to another round of creative discipleship.

I am also stepping into a mentorship-ish role, training the next Creative Coordinator and Media team. In the New Year I will continue as the Fine Art leader, Creative Coordinator and then pick up the Media Leader role again. I am grateful to be using my creativity to invest into some much bigger than the here and now.

This spring I will be wrapping up my time with YWAM Ålesund. What's next? I'm not totally sure yet, but I am looking forward to a slower season of resting, spending time with my family, and reflecting on what God has revealed to me in this season of missions. Preparations for phasing out and saying goodbye to a place I've called home, is bittersweet. I've lingered in nostaliga the last weeks and it's full of rich memories and friendship from the last 3 years in Norway.


Prayer Points:
  • wisdom and discernment for "after" YWAM

  • creativity and inspiration from Holy Spirit in my areas

  • rest and refreshment during the Christmas break

If you recieve any words from God, please send em my way :)


May the Lord bless you and keep you safe!


Peace and love












74 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page